1

The startups.com website copies the design & text in most instances of stackoverflow.com. Is this a copyright violation?

For example, compare startups.com/badges to stackoverflow.com/badges

flag

8 Answers

4

This site is based on the technology offered by StackExchange (which is made by the StackOverflow guys). There are no copyright issues here.

link|flag
2

It uses the StackExchange Platform.

See: http://stackexchange.com/

link|flag
1

I don't think Startups.com violates any copyright. For what I understand, basic design is not subject to copyright law. I'm not a legal expert here, so I might be wrong. There are hundreds of SE sites currently live, and the design is pretty much exactly the same as StackOverflow. Maybe all SE sites infringe copyright? I'd love to know what the people at StackOverflow have to say about it.

link|flag
1

Yes, they certainly licensed the platform from stackexchange.com. My site http://www.BasicallyMoney.com is another example of such a site.

link|flag
1

@Gonzalo (can't comment on your answer directly).

IANAL but ... the spirit of the question was whether this site might be a violation of copyright or other intellectual property laws. As many have already pointed out the principles at SO have provided access to the platform being used here; so there's some sort of license for the usage in place.

However to assert that copyright doesn't cover website design and layout elements is extremely dangerous. First it's possible that website which closely emulated the appearance of another could be considered a derivative work. I've heard that there are precedence involving layout of brochures and other marketing materials (in printed form) ... cases where an advertising agency or marketing firm prevailed over clients or competitors. At issue was the overall layout and appearance, not any specific, literal graphics, verbiage (copy) other elements.

Additionally a site might infringe on another's "trade dress." This is not specifically a copyright violation (it's under "trademark" law).

The point is that the question is valid. However, it's probably posted to the wrong place. The only valid answers that can be posted here are roughly: "Maybe" and "Talk to your lawyer about your specific situation" and perhaps even: "Do you have standing (in this case)?"

link|flag
0

They probably licensed the platform. I know another site that has done this.

link|flag
0

Hey, that is a great use of the platform! Basically Money! Excellent. I am going to spread the word among the financial blogs I visit. Well done! Regards, arit

link|flag

Your Answer

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.